Mining Park Hours

Open 7 days a week
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Closed all Federal & State U.S. Holidays.

Small and large groups are welcome.  Please call (775) 482-9274 at least 48 hours ahead of scheduled visit.

Admission

Visitors Center: Free
Walking Tour:

Adults $5.00
Seniors $3.00
Students (8-17) $4.00
Children (7 & under) Free
Veterans/Military Free

Google Map

Experience the Tonopah Historic Mining Park~

The Tonopah Historic Mining Park is located on the site of the original mining claims that started the rush to Tonopah, making it “Queen of the Silver Camps”.

Jim and Belle Butler’s strike in 1900 brought the United States into the 20th Century, and many of the mining processing techniques developed during that time are still being used today.

The park encompasses portions of four of the original major mining companies and covers more than 100 acres.  This rich history is brought to life through preserved and restored equipment and buildings, historic exhibits, video presentations (in our on-site theater), and a self-guided tour.  Learn More…

Recent Comments~

“What a museum you have! Our initial thought was that you have moved artifacts to the park. It never occurred to us that the mining park is composed of actual mines. This is an accomplishment that as far as we know has no equal.”

“The Historical Park is huge, covering acres of actual mining sites. Mining sites, equipment and shafts are preserved exactly where they were used in 1904. Because the park covers various mines the self guided tour can take hours of walking. We decided to take the Polaris Guided Tour ($10 each) What a pleasure to be driven to all the highlights with a well informed and enthusiast guide after watching the 20 minute historical movie. HOME RUN!”

 Take a look at our Spring 2018 Newsletter

Mizpah Collar Reconstruction is complete!

The three-compartment Mizpah Shaft – with two compartments for ore haulage and hoisting of equipment, and the third being a manway compartment – was opened for the first time in years. Read more here…

The Tonopah Historic Mining Park Foundation is undertaking several Major Restoration Projects.

In operation from 1902 to 1948, the Silver Top mine headframe (left) is one of three complete hoisting works located at the Tonopah Historic Mining Park.  The failure of the front foundations caused the front feet to drop down and spread away from the rear feet.  A stress crack has developed in one of the rear foundation footings, the cage rails have been broken and several structural trusses have pulled loose and fallen.

The Desert Queen mine headframe (right) was in use from 1901 to 1929.  One of the major diagonal frame members is completely rotted at the footing, and several structural trusses have pulled loose and fallen.

Learn more about our Headframe Restoration Projects.

Copyright (c) 2018 Tonopah Historic Mining Park and its representatives. All rights reserved.
The Tonopah Historic Mining Park Foundation is a Nevada 501(c)3 non-profit organization, whose purpose is to preserve Nevada’s mining history, heritage, and the life surrounding it at the Tonopah Historic Mining Park. Contributions may be tax deductible pursuant to the provisions of section 170(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 26 U.S.C. § 170(c). All contributions made to the Tonopah Historic Mining Park Foundation become its sole property and will be used as determined by the Board of Trustees.
website designed & developed by SG